Help-Looking for a Teacher

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help-Looking for a Teacher

Guys, I will be in Terramar all of next week and was looking to hook up and gig with someone. I have a 17ft aluminum flatbottom center console and would like to try gigging but have never done it. I keep talking about it but my bil and dad always peel out on me. I have a gig and made a light from fish lights etc but think i will have to use another light source as the one i have doesnt exactly work like described online. I was actually thinking about the one at Academy. So if you have any input please let me know. I am an ag teacher and am finally off for summer. 10 months of teaching kids to weld can be exhausting so it should be a good little vacation.

Guys i am looking for advice, guidance, dos and donts. I will be more than happy to haul you around if you show me the ropes. I have ray guards as i was advised to wear them but am open for any other suggestions.
    Thanks

Hook up with 2112 or shortystillsurfs they da kings
    MANVEL MOB

Comment

I have never done that type of fishing either. I will be following the process and your progess on this thread. Good luck.

Comment

Do some scouting during the day and find some walkable areas close by. At night everything is different. The Academy light works but you have to carry a 12V battery with you in a backpack or other method. I definately dont recommend you go alone till you learn some. Wear a cap LED headlight just in case you lose your light for some reason. Dont forget your stringer. Coleman lanterns with a shield work as well. You need to find some areas with less than 1' of water with good clarity or your wasting your time. Good Luck Be Safe!!

Comment

I will add that hard sand bottom is much easier to walk. When I am fishing during the day, I notice spots like this and make a mental note of them to gig later. Bigger shallow flats have more room, but you can get nice fish walking a grassline too.